

# City of Naperville

# **Legislation Text**

File #: 19-895, Version: 1

### **EMERGENCY TELEPHONE SYSTEM BOARD AGENDA ITEM**

#### **ACTION REQUESTED:**

Approve the change in the ETSB membership

**DEPARTMENT:** Police Department

**SUBMITTED BY:** Robert W. Marshall, Chief of Police and ETSB Chairman

## **BOARD/COMMISSION REVIEW:**

The ordinance amending the ETSB membership was first read by Naperville City Council on August 20, 2019 and approved by Naperville City Council on September 3, 2019

# **BACKGROUND:**

Title1, Chapter 9, Article G of the Naperville Municipal Code provides regulations regarding the Enhanced 9-1-1 System Surcharge. Section 1-9G-13 specifically provides regulations regarding the Emergency Telephone System Board (ETSB) which was established in 1992. In 2017, Ordinance 17-153 was adopted and incorporated into the Naperville Municipal Code to include the City of Aurora and North Aurora into the Naperville ETSB. The Deputy Director of Administrative Services oversees the Emergency Communications Section, so it is appropriate for this position to be included as a board member of the ETSB. This position takes the board seat of the Emergency Communications Manager, previously listed as City of Naperville PSAP Director.

In addition, the title listed as the City of Aurora PSAP Director was incorrect and is updated to City of Aurora Emergency Communications Manager.

#### **DISCUSSION:**

The changes identify the Naperville Deputy Director of Administrative Services to replace the board seat of the City of Naperville PSAP Director (correctly named the Emergency Communications Manager). The changes also correctly identify the title of the City of Aurora's Emergency Communications Manager. Russell Matson and Jacqueline Hobday are currently employed in these positions, respectively.