

Legislation Text

File #: 18-358, Version: 1

CITY COUNCIL AGENDA ITEM

ACTION REQUESTED:

Present the Accessible Community Task Force Student Recognition Awards

DEPARTMENT: Transportation, Engineering and Development

SUBMITTED BY: Amy Emery, AICP, Strategic Projects Supervisor

BOARD/COMMISSION REVIEW:

The Accessible Community Task Force (ACTF) annually recognizes the efforts of students in the community who make a difference in the lives of people with disabilities.

BACKGROUND:

The annual recognition of area students for their exemplary service and outstanding commitment to removing barriers and stereotypes for fellow students with disabilities has been a long-standing tradition of the City of Naperville. Until 2016, the awards program was organized by the Advisory Commission on Disabilities. Beginning in 2017, the ACTF assumed responsibility for this program.

DISCUSSION:

All award recipients were nominated by teachers and/or administrators from Community Unit School District 203 and Indian Prairie School District 204. This year ACTF would like to recognize five seniors. The awards include a personalized certificate of appreciation and a gift card. Councilman Paul Hinterlong, who serves on the Advisory Commission on Disabilities as a City Council Liaison, will make the presentation.

FISCAL IMPACT:

The City provides each award winner with a \$50 Downtown Naperville gift card.