# **City of Naperville**

400 S. Eagle Street Naperville, IL 60540



## **Meeting Minutes - Final**

Thursday, June 17, 2021 3:00 PM

**NPD Community Room / Zoom** 

**Emergency Telephone System Board** 

#### CITY OF NAPERVILLE PUBLIC MEETINGS UPDATE:

Pursuant to Section 120/7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the continuation of the Governor's disaster proclamation, and Mayor Chirico's executive order determining that in-person public meetings are not currently practical or prudent because of the Covid-19 pandemic, we are holding this Emergency Telephone System Board meeting remotely.

The commissioners and staff participating in tonight's meeting are all in different locations in accordance with social distancing guidelines, and steps have been taken to ensure that the Commissioners can hear one another and all discussion and testimony. The public has been provided notice of alternative means of access to the meeting so they are able to contemporaneously hear all discussion, testimony and votes. All votes shall be taken by roll call.

#### TO JOIN A MEETING:

The Zoom Video Conferencing App will be used. You do not need to download the Zoom app to participate. Simply follow the instruction below.

#### To login on your computer or iPad:

Click the link to join the webinar (and password if required) provided on this agenda. Once connected, if you choose to speak, click the "Raise Hand" button at the bottom of Zoom screen and wait for the Chairman to recognize you. You will be unmuted. There will be a few second delay after you're unmuted until your mic will be live. Please identify yourself for the public record and speak clearly.

## To login on your phone:

For iPhones, use the iPhone one-tap number provided on this agenda.

For telephones, dial one of the numbers provided and join the meeting by using meeting ID (and password if required) provided on this agenda.

Once connected to the meeting, press \*9 to "raise your hand" and wait for the Chairman to recognize you. You will be unmuted. There will be a few second delay after you're unmuted until your mic will be live. Please identify yourself for the public record and speak clearly.

Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone or Android device:

Please click this URL to join. https://zoom.us/j/99326445328?

pwd=c0h0cWZheWxsM3N4UVMyMnNHOG0yQT09

Passcode: 014559

## Or One tap mobile:

+13126266799,,99326445328#,,,,\*014559# US (Chicago)

+13017158592,,99326445328#,,,,\*014559# US (Washington DC)

## Or join by phone:

Dial (for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):

US: +1 312 626 6799 or +1 301 715 8592 or +1 929 205 6099 or +1 669 900 6833 or +1

253 215 8782 or +1 346 248 7799

Webinar ID: 993 2644 5328

Passcode: 014559

International numbers available: https://zoom.us/u/accp9ZhOSr

#### PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES:

All viewpoints are welcome, positive comments and constructive criticism are encouraged. Speakers must refrain from harassing or directing threats or personal attacks at Commission members, staff, other speakers or members of the public. Comments made to intentionally disrupt the meeting may be managed as necessary to maintain appropriate decorum and allow for city business to be accomplished.

#### A. CALL TO ORDER:

In Chairman Marshall's absence, Matson called the zoom meeting to order at 3:00 PM and read opening comments to provide the public with information as to why the meeting is being held remotely.

#### **B. ROLL CALL:**

Aurora Police Chief Ziman arrived to the meeting after Item 3 in Reports, therefore she did not vote for Item 1 and 3 in Reports. Aurora Emergency Communications Manager Jacqueline Hobday is a non-voting board member, therefore her voting response is noted as Excused.

Present 11 - Denny Barfuss, David Fisher, Richard Fowler, Carl Franco, Jacqueline Hobday, Gary Krienitz, Russ Matson, Mark Puknaitis, Theresa Sullivan, Kenneth VanAndel, and Kristen Ziman

Absent 1 - Robert Marshall

#### C. PUBLIC FORUM:

Matson asked if there were any speakers or guests for Public Forum. Matson noted that Mark McGee vacated his seat from the board due relocation out of state. Denny Barfuss was introduced as a new board member who was appointed by the mayor and approved at the council meeting on June 15, 2021.

## **D. OLD BUSINESS:**

None.

#### **E. NEW BUSINESS:**

None.

## F. REPORTS:

**1.** Approve the March 18, 2021 ETSB Minutes

A motion was made by Franco to approve the March 18, 2021 ETSB Minutes as presented, seconded by Fowler.

Aye: 9 - Barfuss, Fisher, Fowler, Franco, Krienitz, Matson, Puknaitis, Sullivan, and

VanAndel

Excused: 1 - Hobday

Absent: 2 - Marshall, and Ziman

2. Review the E911 surcharge payments for March 1 to May 31, 2021

No questions or comments.

3. Approve the Naperville expenditures for reimbursement for March 1 to May 31, 2021

A motion was made by Fowler to approve the Naperville Expenditures for Reimbursement totaling \$1,079,821.98, seconded by Franco.

Aye: 9 - Barfuss, Fisher, Fowler, Franco, Krienitz, Matson, Puknaitis, Sullivan, and

VanAndel

Excused: 1 - Hobday

Absent: 2 - Marshall, and Ziman

**4.** Approve the budget transfer from the E911 Fund to the City of Naperville General Fund

A motion was made by Franco to approve the budget transfer from the E911 Fund to the City of Naperville General Fund totaling \$1,001,818.37, seconded by Fowler.

Aye: 10 - Barfuss, Fisher, Fowler, Franco, Krienitz, Matson, Puknaitis, Sullivan, VanAndel,

and Ziman

Excused: 1 - Hobday

Absent: 1 - Marshall

**5.** Approve the Aurora expenditures for reimbursement for March 1 to May 31, 2021

A motion was made by Franco to approve the Aurora Expenditures for Reimbursement totaling \$1,133,168.99 seconded by Fowler.

Aye: 10 - Barfuss, Fisher, Fowler, Franco, Krienitz, Matson, Puknaitis, Sullivan, VanAndel,

and Ziman

Excused: 1 - Hobday

Absent: 1 - Marshall

## **6.** Approve the withdrawal from the E911 Fund to the City of Aurora

A motion was made by Franco to approve the withdrawal from the E911 Fund to the City of Aurora totaling \$752,826.99, seconded by Fisher.

Aye: 10 - Barfuss, Fisher, Fowler, Franco, Krienitz, Matson, Puknaitis, Sullivan, VanAndel,

and Ziman

Excused: 1 - Hobday

Absent: 1 - Marshall

## G. COMMUNICATIONS

## 1. City of Naperville

Matson stated Police Chief and ETSB Chairman Robert Marshall would be retiring effective July 2, 2021 after serving the community for more than 44 years. Matson also stated Emergency Communications Manager Stacey Edwards will be retiring effective June 17, 2021 after serving the community for 21 years and briefly serving in Aurora as well.

Barfuss introduced himself to the board and provided a brief summary of his background in communications, serving in the military and teaching.

After inquiry from Sullivan, Matson outlined a communication plan and timeline for rolling out the NextGen 911 Text to 911 application.

## 2. City of Aurora

Hobday stated Aurora went live with NextGen 911 the week prior and was already using the Text to 911 application since the telecommunicators utilized it in the previous program. Hobday stressed the preferred communication method is still calling 911, if possible. Aurora is working on center renovations and console upgrades.

## 3. City of North Aurora

North Aurora Police Chief Fisher offered congratulations to both chiefs who will be retiring before the next meeting. Aurora Police Chief Ziman will retire effective August 6, 2021.

#### H. ADJOURNMENT:

With no further business to come before the board, a motion was made by Franco to adjourn the meeting at 3:16 PM, seconded by Ziman. The next scheduled meeting is set for September 17, 2021.

/S/ Jill Bridges Jill Bridges

Aye: 10 - Barfuss, Fisher, Fowler, Franco, Krienitz, Matson, Puknaitis, Sullivan, VanAndel,

and Ziman

Excused: 1 - Hobday

Absent: 1 - Marshall