

City of Naperville

400 S. Eagle Street Naperville, IL 60540

Meeting Minutes

City Council

Sunday, May 5, 2019 3:00 PM Council Chambers

Special Meeting: Inauguration Ceremony

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chirico called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

A. Roll Call

Present:

Mayor Chirico, Councilwoman Judith Brodhead, Councilman Kevin Coyne, Councilwoman Patty Gustin, Councilman Paul Hinterlong, Councilman John Krummen, Councilman Benjamin White

Absent:

Councilwoman Becky Anderson, Councilwoman Rebecca Obarski

B. Presentation of the Colors

The colors were presented by the Combined Honor Guard of the Naperville Police and Fire Departments.

C. Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge was given.

D. National Anthem

The National Anthem was performed by Axel Hageman, Naperville North High School senior.

II. ADJOURNMENT SIN DIE

Councilman Kevin Coyne made a motion, seconded by Councilman Paul Hinterlong, for an Adjournment sine die at 3:07 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Mayor Chirico, Councilwoman Judith Brodhead, Councilman Kevin Coyne, Councilwoman Patty Gustin, Councilman Paul Hinterlong, Councilman John Krummen, Councilman Benjamin White

I. INAUGURATION OF THE MAYOR

A. Steve Chirico

Steve Chirico was sworn in by the Honorable Kavita Athanikar.

B. Remarks by Mayor Steve Chirico

Newly re-elected Mayor Chirico gave his remarks.

II. INAUGURATION OF THE CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS

A. Paul Hinterlong

Paul Hinterlong was sworn in by the Honorable Donald Hennessy, Judge Retired.

Newly re-elected Councilman Hinterlong gave his remarks.

B. Patty Gustin

Patty Gustin was sworn in by the Honorable Kavita Athanikar.

Newly re-elected Councilwoman Gustin gave her remarks.

C. Patrick Kelly

Patrick Kelly was sworn in by the Honorable Kavita Athanikar.

Newly elected Councilman Kelly gave his remarks.

D. Theresa Sullivan

Theresa Sullivan was sworn in by the Honorable Kavita Athanikar.

Newly elected Councilwoman Sullivan gave her remarks.

III. CONVENING OF NEW CITY COUNCIL

A. Call to Order

Chirico called the new Council to order at 3:28 p.m.

B. Roll Call

Present:

Mayor Chirico, Councilwoman Judith Brodhead, Councilman Kevin Coyne, Councilwoman Patty Gustin, Councilman Paul Hinterlong, Councilman Patrick Kelly, Councilman John Krummen, Councilwoman Theresa Sullivan, Councilman Benjamin White

IV. REMARKS BY THE NEWLY SWORN-IN COUNCIL MEMBERS

V. ADJOURNMENT

Councilwoman Theresa Sullivan made a motion, seconded by Councilman Paul Hinterlong, to adjourn the special City Council meeting of May 5, 2019 at 3:29 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Mayor Chirico, Councilwoman Judith Brodhead, Councilman Kevin Coyne, Councilwoman Patty Gustin, Councilman Paul Hinterlong, Councilman Patrick Kelly, Councilman John Krummen, Councilwoman Theresa Sullivan, Councilman Benjamin White

/S/ Pam Gallahue Pam Gallahue, PhD City Clerk